Michael Dugher MP

Working hard for Barnsley East

About Barnsley East

Map - Barnsley East.jpgThe parliamentary constituency of Barnsley East in South Yorkshire was originally created in 1983. 

The seat was abolished to make way for the newly-named Barnsely East and Mexbrorough in 1997, but was recreated as Barnsley East at the 2010 general election.

Surrounding Barnsley's eastern outskirts, the constituency is made up of a group of small towns originally built for the coal industry.

Former miner Terry Patchett was the Member of Parliament from 1983 until his death in 1996 and Jeff Ennis won the subsequent by-election for Labour in December 1996.

Since the pit closure programme in the 1980s and 1990s, there are no working mines in Barnsley.   

The other main areas of industry in the area were engineering and glass making.  And today Barnsley East is still home to some world class manufacturing and engineering, such as G&G Engineering UK,Premier Engineering (Yorkshire) Ltd and Carlton Main Brickworks Ltd, but its economy is also dominated by many large retailers and distributors, most recently ASOS.  Additionally, many people work in our vital public services in Barnsley. 

Over the years, South Yorkshire's constituencies have been redrawn extensively and the new seat of Barnsley East contains wards from all three of the town's former constituencies. 

The wards in the south west of the constituency, namely Rockingham, Worsbrough and Hoyland Milton, were previously part of the old Barnsley West and Penistone seat. 

The former MPs for this parliamentary constituency include Michael Clapham (1992-2010) and Allen McKay (1983-1992).

The Cudworth ward has been repeatedly moved during previous boundary changes and was, until 2010, part of the Barnsley Central constituency 

Barnsley East is currently made up of the following eight wards:

  • Hoyland Milton - includes Hoyland, Elsecar, Jump, Hemingfield, Blackerhill and Platts Common
  • Rockingham - includes Hoyland Common, Birdwell
  • Worsbrough - includes Worsbrough Bridge, Worsbrough Dale, Ward Green and Swaithe
  • Darfield - includes, Middlecliffe Little Houghton and Billingley
  • North East Ward - includes Grimethorpe, Brierley, Great Houghton and Shafton
  • Stairfoot - includes Ardsley and Kendray
  • Wombwell
  • Cudworth

The 2013 Review of Parliamentary constituency boundaries was set to introduce substantial changes to many constituencies in South Yorkshire and would have reduced the number in England from 533 to 502. However this review has now been postponed until 2018.

The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.